Image 8

The African Seismological Commission (AfSC) is a scientific organisation created in 2011 by the International Association of Seismology and Physics of the Earth’s Interior (IASPEI) and is a regional commission of IASPEI.

IASPEI is one of 8 commissions that fall under the International Union of Geodesy & Geophysics (IUGG).Under IASPEI are many commissions & working groups including the AfSC & other regional seismological commissions.

In 2011, an interim executive committee was appointment to lead the process of setting up the AfSC:

  • Interim President: A. Ayele
  • Interim VPresident: V. Midzi
  • Interim Secretary General: M. Grobbelaar

The AfSC mission is to promote the science of Seismology within the scientific community of the African countries, by promoting research studies, to extend and enhance scientific co-operation and to train young scientists.

Its administrative and scientific decisions are consistent with the general rules / decisions of IASPEI.

The first official kick off meeting was held in Johannesburg, South Africa in conjunction with AfricaArray on 22 Januray 2014 (see minutes).

At the meeting the bylaws were agreed upon and an interim executive committee was elected from Ethiopia, Cameroon, Egypt, South Africa and Ghana (see minutes and “Executive Committee” )

Support from the Organisation of African Geological Surveys (OAGS) has been obtained, please click on this letter and many countries and organisations are also supporting the commission by nominating representatives.

First General Assembly will be held in 2016 and the bid is now open.